Articles and Databases
Inside Brighton Memorial Library Only
If prompted for your username and password, please ask a librarian for assistance.
AccessScience An encyclopedia of science and technology that  includes daily research updates and biographies of leading scientists.
Ancestry.com: (Library Edition) Census, marriage, birth, death records and more.
 
Guide to Grantmakers: Resource for identifying non-profit supporters in the six-county Greater Rochester Area including corporate and philanthropic sources from outside the region who have provided funding for projects in the Rochester area.
 
Morningstar Mutual Funds: Trusted and reliable source to track market development and manage investments with ratings and analysis.
New England Journal of Medicine: Easily searchable up-to-date information from this country’s leading medical journal, including archives from 1975 to the present.
Polk Directories: City & Suburban Rochester: Names and addresses of people living in the Greater Rochester Area.
Well-Connected: Reports on common diseases and wellness issues. Each report is an in-depth discussion of the latest information on treatments, risk factors, causes, diagnostic tests, and preventative measures.
 
Outside or Inside Brighton Memorial Library
You may use these sites from home, but may be prompted for your Monroe County library card number.
 
America’s News Magazines: Popular business magazines: Fortune, Money
News: Newsweek, Time, US News & World Report Entertainment: People, Entertainment Weekly, Sports Illustrated and other popular titles
 
Biography Resource Center Search for biographies on more than 340,000 individuals from around the world and throughout history. Find photos, full-text magazine and newspaper articles as well as links to web sites. Authorized for Brighton Residents Only
 
Business and Company Resource Center: NOVELny Logo.
Company profiles, rankings, market share information, investment reports, company histories, industry profiles, and periodicals.
 
Clic-on-Health: Comprehensive site for Rochester health information. Funding for CLIC-on-Health is provided by a grant from Senator Jim Alesi and the Rochester Regional Library Council.
 
Community Information: Links to sites providing information about cultural activities and events, human services organizations, government, and sports and recreation for the Rochester area.
 
Democrat and Chronicle Full-text articles from 2002 - present.
 
EBSCOHost Español NOVELny Logo. Primary Search, Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia, and EBSCO Animals databases in the Spanish language.
 
EBSCO Science Reference Center: Provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-specific reference books, encyclopedias, periodicals, newspapers, biographies and images.
 
GreenFILE A freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology.
 
Grolier Online  NOVELny Logo.
Includes the Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, and The New Book of Knowledge.
 
Magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories and information on health topics.
 
HeritageQuest OnlineA powerful and popular genealogical resource that includes the Federal Censuses, over 25,000 family and local histories, bank and military records, and genealogical and local history sources.

 

National Newspaper Index: provides indexing (not full-text articles) of America’s top five newspapers: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, and The Washington Post.
 
NetLibrary Reference Center: Search and browse reference resources including encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories, handbooks, thesauri, and more.
 
New York State Newspapers Eight full-text newspapers from Buffalo, New York City and Syracuse.

 

NoveList Plus Discover what to read next. With information on over 250,000 fiction and readable nonfiction titles included, plus feature content including lists of award-winning books, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, Recommended Reads and more, NoveList Plus is a complete readers' resource. Remote users need to call the Reference Desk (784-5300 choose option 3) for a username & password. Authorized for Brighton Residents Only.
 
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center covers today’s hottest social issues, from terrorism to endangered species, bringing together all the information that’s needed to fully understand an issue, including pro and con viewpoint articles, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics. Authorized for Brighton Residents Only

 

Price It! Antiques & Collectibles is the ultimate identification, research and pricing tool for collectors, dealers, appraisers and anyone in between. Authorized for Brighton Residents Only

 

Primary Search via Kids Search: Children's magazines and pamphlets, designed for the elementary school student.
 
Primary Search via Searchasaurus: Children’s magazines and pamphlets designed for the elementary school student.
 
ProQuest Platinum NOVELny Logo. This database has periodicals covering a broad range of material: business, education, general reference, health, language arts, sciences, social sciences, and many other subject areas. Browsable subjects include arts and humanities; computers and Internet; education; environment; health; lifestyles and culture; politics and government; science and mathematics; social issues and policy; and sports and entertainment.
 
ReferenceUSA: Businesses by location, Yellow Page heading, zip code, SIC code. Authorized for Brighton Residents Only
 
Rochester History: Journal covering the history of Rochester and western New York. Articles available from 1939 - present.
 
Rochester Images: Over 22,000 historical and contemporary images from Rochester and Monroe County.
Teacher Reference Center (TRC) This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 teachers and librarians.
theStreet.com (formerly Weiss Ratings) advisory information on financial services companies including Banks and Thrifts; Health Insurance and HMOs, Life Insurance, and Property and Casualty Insurance. Authorized for Brighton Residents Only
 
Thomas Register: Industrial services and products.
 
Topic Search: Current events from a wide variety of sources.
 
Twayne’s Author Series: Full-text of 200 Twayne Literary Masters books on world, U.S. or English authors.
World Book Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos La Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos está organizada de modo que los estudiantes puedan encontrar información rápida y fácilmente. Pulse en la primera letra del título del artículo para ver el artículo.
 
World Book Kids is designed especially for younger users, English-language learners, and reluctant readers. The site offers simple navigation, easy-to-read content, bright colors, and a graphical design. Includes thousands of colorful illustrations, diagrams, and maps, including printable activity worksheets for use in the classroom or at home.
 
World Book Student is specifically developed for media centers and classrooms, and includes all of the articles from the 22-volume World Book Encyclopedia, plus more than 20,000 pictures and maps, 115 videos and animations, 10,000 sounds, more than 100 simulated historic web sites.
 
 
 
 
 
 
World Cat via OCLC First Search: OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Funding for WorldCat is provided by the Rochester Regional Library Council through a grant from the New York State Education Department.
 
 
 
 
2300 Elmwood Avenue, Rochester NY 14618
Tel. (585) 784-5300 - TDD (585) 784-5302